Virtual

Student Project &
Research Symposium

ABOUT

Initiated in 2016, The Giles T. Brown Student Project and Research Symposium was conceived by a group of faculty, staff and Deans who believe in the value of the relationship formed between a student and mentor when they explore their academic discipline together beyond the classroom.   The Symposium group provides a venue for all students from any field at OCC to showcase work they've done in class or independently.   We recognize that disciplines showcase work in different ways, so we have created a safe and supportive way for students to share posters, oral presentations, or exhibitions of work to their peers.   We hope the Symposium can simulate a professional conference, but also recognize that students need a first step into their profession.   More than just a day of presentations, we provide support throughout the academic year in the form of faculty-led workshops to identify a research idea, develop an abstract and prepare a poster or oral presentation.  At the event, our OCC community provides constructive feedback and selects the top participants for a scholarship award.  The entire activity is made possible by the many hours of volunteer work put forth by our faculty and staff driven committee who see the value in mentoring students to build community and a sense of connection to the OCC campus.  In the last 5 years, more than 200 students have showcased their work and some have gone on to receive local and regional awards for the work they’ve conducted at OCC. As an attendee shared, the symposium  "helps you gain knowledge in something you might not have looked into on your own."

Committee Members

Ulrike Green
ugreen@occ.cccd.edu
Faculty
Anthropology
Committee Chair
Workshops
Abstract Review
Volunteers
Jerome Fang
jfang5@occ.cccd.edu
Faculty
Astronomy
Workshops
Abstract Review
Website Editor
Duy Pham
dpham@occ.cccd.edu
Instructional Assistant
Biology
Logistics
Website Designer
Website Developer
Abstract Review
Kelli Elliott
kelliott@occ.cccd.edu
Faculty
Biology
Abstract Review
Program Booklet
Workshops
Lee Gordon
lgordon@occ.cccd.edu
Faculty
Business
Amy Hellman
ahellman@occ.cccd.edu
Faculty
Chemistry
Workshops
Surveys
Logistics
Abstract Review
Website Editor
Katherine Donahoe
kdonahoe1@occ.cccd.edu
Instructional Assistant
Chemistry
Student Funding
Abstract Review
Laura Wagner
lwagner12@occ.cccd.edu
Faculty
English
Rubric
Theme
Brent Rudmann
brudmann@occ.cccd.edu
Faculty
History
Photography
Jon Mochizuki
jmochizuki@occ.cccd.edu
Faculty
History
Rubric
Evaluator Liason
Melissa Archibald
marchibald@occ.cccd.edu
Faculty
History
Canvas
Communications
Advertising
Mentor Liason
Mark Wishon
mwishon@occ.cccd.edu
Faculty
History
Teresa Scarbrough
tscarbrough@occ.cccd.edu
Administrative Secretary
Honors Program
Honors Liason
Abstract Review
Michael Sutliff
msutliff@occ.cccd.edu
Dean
Kinesiology & Athletics
Recruitment
Rubric
Abstract Review
Erin Gratz
egratz@occ.cccd.edu
Librarian
Library
Workshops
Abstract Review
Robert Ellis
rellis@occ.cccd.edu
Faculty
Marine Science
Website Editor
Tara Giblin
tgiblin@occ.cccd.edu
Dean
Math & Sciences
Funding
Abstract Review
Neil Godfrey
ngodfrey@occ.cccd.edu
Faculty
Mathematics
Rachel Ridnor
rridnor@occ.cccd.edu
Faculty
Sociology
Co-chair
Advertising
OCC Webpage Editor
Abstract Review
Dean Abernathy
dabernathy@occ.cccd.edu
Faculty
Technology