Virtual

Student Project &
Research Symposium

ABOUT

Initiated in 2016, The Giles T. Brown Student Project and Research Symposium was conceived by a group of faculty, staff and Deans who believe in the value of the relationship formed between a student and mentor when they explore their academic discipline together beyond the classroom.   The Symposium group provides a venue for all students from any field at OCC to showcase work they've done in class or independently.   We recognize that disciplines showcase work in different ways, so we have created a safe and supportive way for students to share posters, oral presentations, or exhibitions of work to their peers.   We hope the Symposium can simulate a professional conference, but also recognize that students need a first step into their profession.   More than just a day of presentations, we provide support throughout the academic year in the form of faculty-led workshops to identify a research idea, develop an abstract and prepare a poster or oral presentation.  At the event, our OCC community provides constructive feedback and selects the top participants for a scholarship award.  The entire activity is made possible by the many hours of volunteer work put forth by our faculty and staff driven committee who see the value in mentoring students to build community and a sense of connection to the OCC campus.  In the last 5 years, more than 200 students have showcased their work and some have gone on to receive local and regional awards for the work they’ve conducted at OCC. As an attendee shared, the symposium  "helps you gain knowledge in something you might not have looked into on your own."

Committee Members

YEAR: 2021, 2022
Ulrike Green
ugreen@occ.cccd.edu
Faculty
Anthropology
Chair
Workshops
High School Recruitment
Student Volunteer Manager
Logistics
Jerome Fang
jfang5@occ.cccd.edu
Faculty
Astronomy
Workshops
Abstract Review
Rubric & Evaluations
Duy Pham
dpham@occ.cccd.edu
Instructional Assistant
Biology
Website Development/Design
Virtual Logistics
Marketing/Advertising
Abstract Review
Kelli Elliott
kelliott@occ.cccd.edu
Faculty
Biology
Workshops
OCC Webpage
Abstract Review
Evaluations
Lane Whitlow
lwhitlow@occ.cccd.edu
Faculty
Biology
Social Media
Amy Hellman
ahellman@occ.cccd.edu
Faculty
Chemistry
Co-chair
Logistics
Workshops
Surveys
Virtual Logsitics
Canvas & Student Outreach
Katherine Donahoe
kdonahoe1@occ.cccd.edu
Instructional Assistant
Chemistry
Student Funding
Extra Credit Support
Laura Wagner
lwagner12@occ.cccd.edu
Faculty
English
Mentor Support
Rubric & Evaluations
Erik Bender
ebender@occ.cccd.edu
Faculty
Geology
High School Recruitment
Brent Rudmann
brudmann@occ.cccd.edu
Faculty
History
Social Media
Jon Mochizuki
jmochizuki@occ.cccd.edu
Faculty
History
Library Liaison
Evaluator Support
Rubric & Evaluations
Teresa Scarbrough
tscarbrough@occ.cccd.edu
Administrative Secretary
Honors Program
Honors Program Liaison
Sharyn Konick
skonick@occ.cccd.edu
Program Director
Integrative Health Coaching
Abstract Review
Michael Sutliff
msutliff@occ.cccd.edu
Dean
Kinesiology & Athletics
Rubric & Evaluations
Erin Gratz
egratz@occ.cccd.edu
Librarian
Library
Library Liaison
Robert Ellis
rellis@occ.cccd.edu
Faculty
Marine Science
Mentor Support
Evaluator Support
Melissa Ferguson
mferguson25@occ.cccd.edu
Faculty
Psychology
Logistics
Diane Brown
dbrown226@occ.cccd.edu
Faculty
Public Health
Marketing/Advertising
Social Media
Melissa Archibald
marchibald@occ.cccd.edu
Faculty
Social Science
Canvas & Student Outreach
Marketing/Advertising
Mentor Support
Dean Abernathy
dabernathy@occ.cccd.edu
Faculty
Technology